July 22, 2017


On the occasion of the 30th Annual General Meeting of The National Scout Assembly of The Scout Association of Belize, His Excellency the Governor-General and Patron of Scouts, Sir Colvin N. Young arrived as scheduled and was greeted by President Jersha Lennan.




The Annual General Meeting started with the reading and acceptance of the last minutes of the Assembly held in 2016.  This was followed by a message from the Chief Scout and report of activities and from the President.  The audited financial report was presented by Executive Director Hilberto Riverol who pointed out that the Association performed somewhat better financially in 2016 since at the close of business the deficit amounted to only $898.00 compared to $16,209.00 in 2015.  Both the activities and financial reports were accepted as presented.





Elections of five officer to serve for the next two years followed.  Those elected were: Lucia Cituk from the 11th Corozal Mary Hill Scout Group, Kirk Lainfiesta from the 9th Belize St. Ignatius Scout Group, Reese Medina from the 27th Cayo Santa Elena Jaguars Scout Group and Eliza Manzanares from the 19th Corozal Louisville Scout Group.






This was closely followed by presentation of Warrants to newly appointed District Commissioners. Chief Scout Roberto Harrison presented Warrants to Jose Riverol as the Cayo District Scout Commissioner and Mario Puck as the Orange Walk District Scout Commissioner.




Sir Colville Young, Governor-General of Belize and Patron of Scouts delivered the main address in which he congratulated the new elected members and new appointed District Commissioners.  He ended by asking members of the Scout Assembly to keep on doing good with the Scout program as it is a positive way of building productive citizens in our communities.





Congratulations to the National Scout Assembly and the new appointed members to the Assembly and new District Commissioners.